Templemore is a North Tipperary town of about 2,300 inhabitants. Its name in Gaelic, An Teampall Mor, translates as “the big church.” Indeed, a large abbey was built there in the twelfth century. Laetitia and her group toured the ruined abbey and the ruin of the Black Castle, which was built in 1450 by the Butler family and abandoned after a fire in the nineteenth century.
The limerick of the day was based on gossip from the pub about a young woman who disliked trumpet lessons, but then came to enjoy them.
Young Cate from the town Templemore
Thought her trumpet instructor a bore
‘Til a duet that they
Played the triple-tongue way
Made her shriek and request an encore.